Forum Message

Topic: South Ealing Explosion 20/02/11
Posted by: Lauren Bonner
Date/Time: 21/02/11 16:46:00

I am a resident in the terraced houses just behind Carlyle House where the gas explosion happened on Sunday 20th February.

I want to note my frustration today at the preoccupation of all the emergency services reports and news stories etc. of this blast being based around the front of the building (which was actually the back of the flat involved) and the road in front of this and not the residential homes directly behind, so have joined this forum in order to vent it.

There seems to be a total failure to mention the residential homes behind the Carlyle House flats, which are directly in front of the entrance to the flat and which actually bore the brunt of the explosion damage in the end.

The closest house to the flat had windows blown in and we all have damaged roof tiles and holes that it seems we probably have to face will require being repaired ourselves in the all too likely event that the man involved is proved to be the cause and has no insurance of his own.

The road and park have all been cleared of debris now of course, while our our roofs and gardens still have it strewn all over them.

I am obviously immensely relieved that nobody got hurt, which does indeed seem amazing and yesterday, the idea of how much worse it could have been i.e If the building had collapsed on other residents, if children had been in the playground or garden, if I had carried out my plan to do some gardening that morning, if the debris that smashed my roof tiles had landed a few cm's further over and smashed through the glass skylight onto my housemate's head as he readied himself for work below it etc.